The National 9/11 Flag has now been fully restored using retired American flags from all 50 states.  Each retired flag has its own story, and as they became part of The National 9/11 Flag, they forever symbolize the shared triumphs and struggles of the American people. 

Restoration of the flag started with two patches sewn on the bottom red stripe in Arkansas and continued through each of the successive stripes.   Each stripe has at least one state patch sewn on the flag with the location of the patch explained within each state’s write up.  Patches used in the restoration of the blue star field are also indicated within the appropriate states.  Read about each retired flag below and how parts of those flags became patches that were sewn into the National 9/11 Flag. 

 Alabama Flags

Arizona Flags

Arkansas Flags

Colorado Flags

Georgia Flags

Hawaii Flags

Indiana Flags

Iowa Flags

Kansas Flags

Louisiana Flags

Maine Flags

Massachusetts Flags

Minnesota Flags

Missouri Flags

Nebraska Flags

New Jersey Flags

Oklahoma Flags

Pennsylvania Flags

Texas Flags

Wisconsin Flags